Prospective International Scholars

Prospective international scholars are defined as foreign nationals who are interested in coming to the University of Miami as participants in the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, or long-term observation at a University of Miami department under the supervision of a University of Miami professor.

The University of Miami (UM) is the sponsor of the Exchange Visitor Program P-1-00212, which is administered by the Department of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Through the University's J-1 Exchange Visitor Program, academic departments can bring qualified participants to UM departments to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, consultation, and long-term observation under the supervision of a UM faculty member. The University is authorized to sponsor exchange visitors in five categories: professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, specialist, and student. Students will not be discussed here. The other four categories are those that the University refers to as "international scholars."

If you are a foreign national and interested in participating in the University of Miami's Exchange Visitor Program, please contact the department you wish to join to inquire if the department has any interest in hosting you as an international scholar and how you may apply to become an international scholar. It is up to each individual department to decide whether to invite any person to participate in the Exchange Visitor Program and to inform prospective exchange visitors on the appropriate steps to take in order to become an international scholar.

The following is a list of University of Miami departments and contact information for these departments.
This list includes departments that have hosted international scholars in the past. If you are interested in a department but do not see it on this list, please email International Student and Scholar Services and indicate which department you wish to contact regarding participation in the Exchange Visitor Program. We will forward your inquiry to the appropriate department for a direct response to you.

University of Miami Department Dept. Contact Email Address
Accounting Willie Risby Hannah
Anesthesiology Radmila Melnik
Architecture Chanelle Costa
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Irma Riccio
Biology Maria Shah
Biomedical Engineering Angie Del-Llano
Business Administration Kalema Meggs
Cell Biology and Anatomy Marcela Ward
Chemistry Noel Urbina
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Glenneka Johnson
Computer Science Julieta Garcia
Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery Toni Stone
Diabetes Research Institute Toni Stone
Economics Penny Gibson
Electrical and Computer Engineering Ivy Reyes Tovar
Family Medicine & Community Health Jenny Lopez
Finance Michelle Mederos
Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education Toni Stone
Health Informatics Irma Riccio
Hematology/Oncology Toni Stone
Human Genetics Irma Riccio
Hussman Institute for Human Genomics Irma Riccio
Industrial Engineering Augusto Roca
International  Medicine Institute Olivia Cata
International Studies Robert Wright
Law Carolina Morris
Marine Geology & Geophysics Cheryl Braxton
Mathematics Dania Puerto
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Marisol Pernas
Meteorology & Physical Oceanography Sandrine Apelbaum
Medicine Elia Nogues
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis Marcela Ward
Microbiology & Immunology Irma Riccio
Modern Languages & Literatures Nancy Wielert
Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Irma Riccio
Neurological Surgery Marcela Ward
Neurology Jenny Lopez
Obstetrics & Gynecology Toni Stone
Ophthalmology Paola Wright
Orthopedics Jenny Lopez
Otolaryngology Radmila Melnik
Pathology Marcela Ward
Philosophy Alexander Puente
Physical Therapy Radmila Melnik
Physics Judy Mallery
Physiology & Biophysics Irma Riccio
Public Health Sciences Irma Riccio
Psychiatry& Behavioral Sciences Radmila Melnik
Psychology Josefina Dauval
Radiation Oncology     Toni Stone
Radiology Jenny Lopez
Stem Cell Institute Irma Riccio
Surgery Rdamila Melnik
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Amie Choy
Urology Elia Nogues