Prospective International Scholars

Prospective exchange visitors/scholars are defined as foreign nationals who are interested in coming to the University of Miami as participants in the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, or long-term observation at a University of Miami department under the supervision of a University of Miami faculty member.

The University of Miami (UM) is the sponsor of the Exchange Visitor Program P-1-00212, which is administered by the Department of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Through the University's J-1 Exchange Visitor Program, academic departments can bring qualified participants to UM departments to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, consultation, and long-term observation under the supervision of a UM faculty member. The University is authorized to sponsor exchange visitors in five categories: professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, specialist, and student. Students will not be discussed here. The other four categories are those that the University refers to as "exchange visitors," also known as scholars.

If you are a foreign national and interested in participating in the University of Miami's Exchange Visitor Program, please contact the department you wish to join to inquire if the department has any interest in hosting you as an exchange visitor/scholar and how you may apply to become an exchange visitor/scholar. It is up to each individual department to decide whether to invite any person to participate in the Exchange Visitor Program and to advise prospective exchange visitors regarding the appropriate steps to take in order to become an exchange visitor/scholar.

The following is a list of University of Miami departments and contact information for these departments.
This list includes departments that have hosted international scholars in the past. If you are interested in a department but do not see it on this list, please email International Student and Scholar Services and indicate which department you wish to contact regarding participation in the Exchange Visitor Program. We will forward your inquiry to the appropriate department for a direct response to you.

University of Miami Department Dept. Contact Email Address
Accounting Willie Risby Hannah wrisby@miami.edu
Anesthesiology Radmila Melnik r.melnik@med.miami.edu
Architecture Chanelle Costa ccosta@miami.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Myriam Rivera m.rivera2@med.miami.edu
Biology Maria Shah maria.shah@miami.edu
Biomedical Engineering Angie Del-Llano a.delllano@miami.edu
Cell Biology and Anatomy Cristina Villanueva c.villanuea1@med.miami.edu
Chemistry Ana Parr aparr@miami.edu
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Glenneka Johnson g.durand@miami.edu
Computer Science Julieta Garcia j.garcia9@miami.edu
Cooperative Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Studies Nathalia Bahamon n.bahamon@miami.edu
Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery Maria Palomino MPalomino@med.miami.edu
Diabetes Research Institute Sabrina Boulazreg SBoulazreg@med.miami.edu
Economics Christy Varona cvarona@bus.miami.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Ivy Reyes Tovar ixr84@miami.edu
Family Medicine & Community Health Jenny Lopez JXC561@med.miami.edu
Finance Michelle Mederos mmederos@miami.edu
Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education Virginia McCans VMcCans@med.miami.edu
Hematology/Oncology Natasha Lewis NLewis1@med.miami.edu
Human Genetics Franklin Bouret fbouret@med.miami.edu
Hussman Institute for Human Genomics Kelly Padgett KPadgett1@med.miami.edu
Industrial Engineering Augusto Roca augusto@miami.edu
International  Medicine Institute Olivia Cata acata@miami.edu
International Studies Robert Wright rwright@miami.edu
Law Carolina Morris cmorris@miami.edu
Marine Geology & Geophysics Cheryl Braxton c.braxton@miami.edu
Marketing Alexandra Burkowski aburkowski@bus.miami.edu
Mathematics Dania Puerto d.puerto@miami.edu
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Marisol Pernas mpernas@miami.edu
Meteorology & Physical Oceanography Sandrine Apelbaum s.apelbaum@miami.edu
Medicine Elia Nogues enogues@med.miami.edu
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis Evelyn Gomez EGomez@med.miami.edu
Microbiology & Immunology Tania Suarez t.suarez@med.miami.edu
Modern Languages & Literatures Nancy Wielert new36@miami.edu
Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Elba Lalor ELalor@med.miami.edu
Neurological Surgery Sophie Egea SEgea@med.miami.edu
Neurology Erica Betancourt EBetancourt@med.miami.edu
Ocean Sciences Jennifer Stone jennifer.stone@rsmas.miami.edu
Ophthalmology Eva Norton enorton@med.miami.edu
Orthopedics Diego Correa dxc821@med.miami.edu
Otolaryngology Micaela Stavrinos mstavrinos@med.miami.edu
Pathology Silvia Prieto s.prieto1@med.miami.edu
Philosophy Alexander Puente apuente@miami.edu
Physical Therapy Natash Crowther NCrowther@med.miami.edu
Physics Judy Mallery jmallery@miami.edu
Physiology & Biophysics Nyanza Urivazo n.urivazo@med.miami.edu
Public Health Sciences Frank Joslyn frankj@miami.edu
Psychiatry& Behavioral Sciences Myrna Miqueli mxm1919@med.miami.edu
Psychology Adam Clarke a.clarke2@miami.edu
Radiation Oncology     Felisa Flores FFlores2@med.miami.edu
Radiology Alina Gonzalez AGonzalez13@med.miami.edu
Stem Cell Institute Katie Walker kmwalker@med.miami.edu
Surgery Sakhi Abraham SPhilip@med.miami.edu
Urology Jackie Meneses jmeneses@med.miami.edu