Prospective International Scholars

Prospective international scholars are defined as foreign nationals who are interested in coming to the University of Miami as participants in the J-1 Exchange Visitor Program to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, or long-term observation at a University of Miami department under the supervision of a University of Miami professor.

The University of Miami (UM) is the sponsor of the Exchange Visitor Program P-1-00212, which is administered by the Department of International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS). Through the University's J-1 Exchange Visitor Program, academic departments can bring qualified participants to UM departments to engage in nonclinical research, teaching, consultation, and long-term observation under the supervision of a UM faculty member. The University is authorized to sponsor exchange visitors in five categories: professor, research scholar, short-term scholar, specialist, and student. Students will not be discussed here. The other four categories are those that the University refers to as "international scholars."

If you are a foreign national and interested in participating in the University of Miami's Exchange Visitor Program, please contact the department you wish to join to inquire if the department has any interest in hosting you as an international scholar and how you may apply to become an international scholar. It is up to each individual department to decide whether to invite any person to participate in the Exchange Visitor Program and to inform prospective exchange visitors on the appropriate steps to take in order to become an international scholar.

The following is a list of University of Miami departments and contact information for these departments.
This list includes departments that have hosted international scholars in the past. If you are interested in a department but do not see it on this list, please email International Student and Scholar Services and indicate which department you wish to contact regarding participation in the Exchange Visitor Program. We will forward your inquiry to the appropriate department for a direct response to you.

University of Miami Department Dept. Contact Email Address
Accounting Willie Risby Hannah wrisby@miami.edu
Anesthesiology Radmila Melnik rmelnik@med.miami.edu
Architecture Chanelle Costa ccosta@miami.edu
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Biology Maria Shah maria.shah@miami.edu
Biomedical Engineering Angie Del-Llano a.delllano@miami.edu
Business Administration Kalema Meggs k.meggs@miami.edu
Cell Biology and Anatomy Marcela Ward MWard2@med.miami.edu
Chemistry Noel Urbina nurbina@miami.edu
Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering Glenneka Johnson g.durand@miami.edu
Computer Science Julieta Garcia j.garcia9@miami.edu
Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Diabetes Research Institute Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Economics Penny Gibson pgibson1@miami.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Ivy Reyes Tovar ixr84@miami.edu
Family Medicine & Community Health Jenny Lopez JXC561@med.miami.edu
Finance Michelle Mederos mmederos@miami.edu
Gordon Center for Research in Medical Education Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Health Informatics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Hematology/Oncology Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Human Genetics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Hussman Institute for Human Genomics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Industrial Engineering Augusto Roca augusto@miami.edu
International  Medicine Institute Olivia Cata acata@miami.edu
International Studies Robert Wright rwright@miami.edu
Law Carolina Morris cmorris@miami.edu
Marine Geology & Geophysics Cheryl Braxton c.braxton@miami.edu
Mathematics Dania Puerto d.puerto@miami.edu
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Marisol Pernas mpernas@miami.edu
Meteorology & Physical Oceanography Sandrine Apelbaum s.apelbaum@miami.edu
Medicine Elia Nogues enogues@med.miami.edu
Miami Project to Cure Paralysis Marcela Ward MWard2@med.miami.edu
Microbiology & Immunology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Modern Languages & Literatures Nancy Wielert new36@miami.edu
Molecular & Cellular Pharmacology Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Neurological Surgery Marcela Ward MWard2@med.miami.edu
Neurology Jenny Lopez JXC561@med.miami.edu
Obstetrics & Gynecology Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Ophthalmology Paola Wright pwright@med.miami.edu
Orthopedics Jenny Lopez JXC561@med.miami.edu
Otolaryngology Radmila Melnik rmelnik@med.miami.edu
Pathology Marcela Ward MWard2@med.miami.edu
Philosophy Alexander Puente apuente@miami.edu
Physical Therapy Radmila Melnik rmelnik@med.miami.edu
Physics Judy Mallery jmallery@miami.edu
Physiology & Biophysics Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Public Health Sciences Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Psychiatry& Behavioral Sciences Radmila Melnik rmelnik@med.miami.edu
Psychology Josefina Dauval jdauval@miami.edu
Radiation Oncology     Toni Stone tstone@miami.edu
Radiology Jenny Lopez JXC561@med.miami.edu
Stem Cell Institute Irma Riccio iriccio@med.miami.edu
Surgery Rdamila Melnik rmelnik@med.miami.edu
Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center Amie Choy achoy@med.miami.edu
Urology Elia Nogues enogues@med.miami.edu